Motor Carrier Services

Commercial Permits

Single-Trip Permits

For lawful travel to a destination within or through the state, foreign-based interstate carriers entering Arizona are required to provide evidence of a valid Arizona registration or International Registration Plan (IRP) credential and fuel tax license.

Carriers not possessing the proper credentials must purchase the appropriate permits required for travel in this state. These permits, which are listed below, expire after 96 hours (i.e., four days) or upon exiting the state, whichever occurs first.

A registration permit is issued to a commercial vehicle or vehicle combination that has a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of 6,000 pounds or greater. The permit fee is based on number of vehicle axles and miles traveled in the state.

Axles
Mile Increments
1
to
50
51
to
100
101
to
150
151
to
200
201
to
250
251
to
300
301
to
350
351
to
400
401
to
450
1 or 2

$2

$4

$6

$8

$10

$12

$14

$16

$18

3

$3

$6

$9

$12

$15

$18

$21

$24

$27

4

$4

$8

$12

$16

$20

$24

$28

$32

$36

5

$5

$10

$15

$20

$25

$30

$35

$40

$45

6

$6

$12

$18

$24

$30

$36

$42

$48

$54

Over 6

$7

$14

$21

$28

$35

$42

$49

$56

$63

A motor carrier permit is issued to a commercial vehicle or vehicle combination that has a GVWR of 12,000 pounds or greater, is subject to Arizona registration and has been issued a valid registration permit. The permit fee is based on travel within the state.

  • 0-50 miles: $12
  • Over 50 miles: $48

A use fuel permit is issued to a use fuel (diesel) powered motor vehicle that is a road tractor, truck tractor, truck or passenger-carrying vehicle with a GVWR greater than 26,000 pounds and more than two axles. The permit fee is based on travel within the state.

  • 0-50 miles: $16
  • Over 50 miles: $65

Permits can be purchased by one of these methods:

For more information, please see our Permits FAQ.

Contact Commercial Permits and Ports of Entry.

Civil RightsTitle VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, and the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA)

Pursuant to Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, and the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), ADOT does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, age, sex or disability. Persons that require a reasonable accommodation based on language or disability should contact ADOT’s Civil Rights Office at 602.712.8946 or at [email protected]. Requests should be made as early as possible to ensure the State has an opportunity to address the accommodation.

De acuerdo con el título VI de la Ley de Derechos Civiles de 1964 y la Ley de Estadounidenses con Discapacidades (ADA por sus siglas en inglés), el Departamento de Transporte de Arizona (ADOT por sus siglas en inglés) no discrimina por raza, color, nacionalidad, edad, género o discapacidad.  Personas que requieren asistencia (dentro de lo razonable) ya sea por el idioma o por discapacidad deben ponerse en contacto con la Oficina de Derechos Civiles al 602.712.8946 o en [email protected]. Las solicitudes deben hacerse lo más pronto posible para asegurar que el equipo encargado del proyecto tenga la oportunidad de hacer los arreglos necesarios.