This page provides a summary of the laws, rules and procedures for aircraft registration as required by law. Its purpose is to increase the general understanding of aircraft registration requirements in Arizona and to facilitate the registration process for aircraft owners.
Easy, fast registration of your active status aircraft with this online application.
Easy, fast and secure, renewing your aircraft registration is now just a click away! Go to the aircraft registration renewal website to follow the prompts.
A registration certificate and license decal will be issued upon full payment of the initial registration fee, appropriate license tax and any penalty due. A license decal, valid for the calendar year, is issued with the registration certificate.
Nonresident owners whose aircraft are based in the state for more than 90 days in the calendar year must register the aircraft with the Motor Vehicle Division Aircraft Registration Unit. The 90 days is total time in the state and need not be consecutive.
Using industry sources and guides, the Motor Vehicle Division Aircraft Registration Unit of ADOT determines the value of aircraft annually for tax purposes. The tax rate is one-half of one per cent (0.005) of the assessed value of the aircraft, but not less than $20.
To claim exempt, nonresident, maintenance, salvage or stored-aircraft tax status, an owner must complete an Aircraft Exemption Affidavit and file it with the Motor Vehicle Division on or before the last day of February or, if it is a new registration in the state, within 60 days of purchase or entry into Arizona.
The Federal Aviation Act of 1958 requires registration of all civil aircraft with the FAA. Registration is covered by Part 47 of the Federal Aviation Regulations. ADOT and the FAA do not notify each other of new aircraft in the state.
Forms can be completed online, printed and mailed to the Aircraft Registration Unit of ADOT.