Frequently Asked Questions

Vehicle Services

Five-Year Registration

What does five-year registration mean?

An owner may register a qualifying vehicle for a five year period.

What types of vehicles are eligible for five-year registration?

Any vehicles not subject to emissions testing requirement for the entire five-year registration cycle, which include the following:
  • Most vehicles registered outside the Phoenix and Tucson metro areas
  • Vehicles with model year 1966 and older
  • New vehicles that have never been registered in Arizona or in any other state
  • Motorcycles 
  • Commercially registered trailers 10,000 lbs GVW and less
  • Solar, electric and hydrogen powered alternative fuel vehicles

Are there any types of vehicle registrations that are not eligible for five-year registration?

Yes, the following registrations are not eligible for a five-year registration:

  • All vehicles that require a one or two year emissions test
  • Allocated registration
  • Apportioned registration
  • Permanent registration
  • Interstate registration
  • Taxi registration
  • Vehicles with a GVW over 55,000 lbs
  • New alternative fuel powered vehicles that have never been registered in Arizona or in any other state
  • Vehicles used primarily off highway that have been issued an Off-Highway Vehicle (OHV) decal
  • Vehicles under the seasonal agricultural, reduced fees registration provision

What is the fee for a five-year registration?

The vehicle license tax and other applicable fees are calculated and paid for five years at the time of registration. Only a one-year registration fee is required to be paid for the entire period.

What are the special plate fees for a five-year registration?

The appropriate special plate/personalization fees for a five year period will be collected at the time of registration.

Can a vehicle be purchased in an area where it would require emissions testing and be registered for five years in an area where emissions testing is not required?

Yes. Generally, the determining factor for a five-year registration is where the vehicle is registered and not where it is purchased. However, a vehicle that is used for commuting into an area where an emissions test is required must be emissions tested no matter where it is registered.

What is required if an owner of a five-year registered vehicle relocates from an non-emissions testing area to an emissions-testing required area?

The vehicle would no longer be eligible for a five-year registration if it does not meet any of the criteria listed in question above. The vehicle owner would now be subject to emissions testing requirements and will have to register the vehicle in their new area.

Am I eligible for a five-year registration even though I’m claiming an exemption from, or reduction, of fees?

Yes, except when recertification is required on an annual basis. Vehicle owners claiming the following exemptions are not eligible for a five-year registration option:

  • A widow or widower claiming a widow's exemption
  • Supplemental Security Income (SSI) recipient (other than a totally disabled veteran)
  • Military personnel claiming the Nonresident and Special Military Exemption if their Military Identification Card reflects an expiration date that will expire within five years
  • Nonprofit
  • Nonprofit school
  • Religious institution

Is the owner eligible for a credit/refund if the vehicle is sold before the five-year registration expires?

Yes, all existing credit/refund provisions for a vehicle sold apply to a five-year registration.

The Arizona Ombudsman – Citizens Aide helps you resolve ongoing issues with State Agencies.

Civil Rights

Pursuant to Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) and other nondiscrimination laws and authorities, ADOT does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, age, or disability. Persons that require a reasonable accommodation based on language or disability should contact ADOT’s Civil Rights Office at Requests should be made as early as possible to ensure the State has an opportunity to address the accommodation.

De acuerdo con el Título VI de la Ley de Derechos Civiles de 1964, la Ley de Estadounidenses con Discapacidades (ADA por sus siglas en inglés) y otras normas y leyes antidiscriminatorias, el Departamento de Transporte de Arizona (ADOT) no discrimina por motivos de raza, color, origen nacional, sexo, edad o discapacidad. Las personas que requieran asistencia (dentro de lo razonable) ya sea por el idioma o discapacidad deben ponerse en contacto con la Oficina de Derechos Civiles de ADOT en Las solicitudes deben hacerse lo más antes posible para asegurar que el Estado tenga la oportunidad de hacer los arreglos necesarios.