Thursday, November 7, 2013

Understanding all the Valley freeway nicknames

Map showing the commonly used names for the various valley freeway locations Click on map for larger view.

By Doug Pacey
ADOT Office of Public Information

In every city, transportation landmarks are given nicknames. Denver claims a “Mousetrap,” Los Angeles boasts the “Four Level” and Seattle has its “S-curves.” These colloquialisms can be baffling to new residents and some long-timers, too.

Phoenix is no different. Perhaps you’ve heard a traffic reporter refer to slowing at the “Mini-Stack” or a crash at the “Split” and wondered what highway was affected?

Wonder no longer. We’ve compiled a list and created a map, explaining and locating popular nicknames to Phoenix’s transportation landmarks.

Stack – A four-level interchange connecting I-10 and I-17; located west of downtown Phoenix near 19th Avenue and McDowell Road.

Mini-Stack – A four-level interchange linking I-10 to State Route 51 and Loop 202 Red Mountain Freeway; located south of McDowell Road and east of 16th Street.

North Stack – Another four-level interchange, this one is located at the I-17 and Loop 101, north of Bell Road.

Split – The interchange where I-10 splits or merges – depending on your direction of travel – with I-17 near Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport. Westbound I-10 splits into lanes that allow drivers to head north on I-17 or continue west on I-10.

SuperRedTan – A multi-tiered interchange in east Mesa where US 60 Superstition Freeway, Loop 202 Red Mountain and Loop 202 Santan meet. SuperRedTan is formed by taking part of each freeway’s name – Superstition, Red Mountain and Santan.

Broadway Curve – Southeast of the Split, this rush-hour-challenged section I-10 is near Broadway Road, and SR 143, by the Phoenix-Tempe border.

Durango Curve – The curved section of I-17 near Durango Street is located southwest of downtown Phoenix.
Posted by Angela DeWelles   |  Labels:  Freeway-Names, Guest-Post, Valley-Freeways


The Arizona Ombudsman – Citizens Aide helps you resolve ongoing issues with State Agencies.

Civil Rights

Pursuant to Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) and other nondiscrimination laws and authorities, ADOT does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, age, or disability. Persons that require a reasonable accommodation based on language or disability should contact ADOT’s Civil Rights Office at Requests should be made as early as possible to ensure the State has an opportunity to address the accommodation.

De acuerdo con el Título VI de la Ley de Derechos Civiles de 1964, la Ley de Estadounidenses con Discapacidades (ADA por sus siglas en inglés) y otras normas y leyes antidiscriminatorias, el Departamento de Transporte de Arizona (ADOT) no discrimina por motivos de raza, color, origen nacional, sexo, edad o discapacidad. Las personas que requieran asistencia (dentro de lo razonable) ya sea por el idioma o discapacidad deben ponerse en contacto con la Oficina de Derechos Civiles de ADOT en Las solicitudes deben hacerse lo más antes posible para asegurar que el Estado tenga la oportunidad de hacer los arreglos necesarios.