Media Center

 

ADOT News Release

For additional information:

ADOT Media Relations

news@azdot.gov

800.949.8057

 

400 business days until Travel ID deadline

TSA will stiffen ID requirements in October 2020
March 04, 2019

PHOENIX – Arizona motorists who have a standard driver license or ID card have about 400 business days remaining until Oct. 1, 2020, when the federal Transportation Security Administration imposes stricter identification criteria for travelers to pass through airport checkpoints. Access to other facilities such as federal buildings and nuclear power plants is also affected.

The Arizona Department of Transportation Motor Vehicle Division offers the Travel ID to meet the requirements of the federal REAL ID Act of 2005. State law requires that Arizona motorists be given a choice between being issued a standard license or ID or getting the Travel ID. Arizona is among 37 states to offer this choice.

Customers who wish to get the Travel ID can make an appointment at www.servicearizona.com to visit an MVD office to obtain the credential. Many Authorized Third Party offices also provide license and ID services. The cost is $25.

In order to get the Travel ID, customers need to bring in a document such as a birth certificate or valid U.S. Passport to prove identity and a second document with their Social Security number. Finally, two pieces of documentation such as a utility bill, bank statement or something similar with a current address are also needed. Customers who have changed names or use nicknames should keep the documentation as consistent as possible.

For more information: www.azdot.gov/travelid

Arizona State Logo - Official Website of the State of Arizona

 ADOT Logo

Arizona Department of Transportation

Contact Us

Join the ADOT Team - Employment Opportunities