Media Center


ADOT News Release

For additional information:

ADOT Media Relations



MVD to offer written drivers’ test online

“Permit Test @ Home” means one less office visit
February 28, 2018

PHOENIX – Arizona teenagers pursuing a driver instruction permit will be able to take the written drivers’ test online beginning Monday, March 5.

The Arizona Department of Transportation Motor Vehicle Division is introducing the Permit Test @ Home available to parents by setting up a free personal AZ MVD Now account, which is accessed through

Potential drivers will still be required to pass a road skills test prior to receiving a driver license, and all permit holders must drive with a licensed driver in the front seat.

“Online testing is commonplace for things such as college courses and professional certifications, so having the Permit Test @ Home is a modern and convenient way for MVD to serve our customers,” said MVD Stakeholder Relations Manager Jennifer Bowser-Richards.

“Learning to drive is a rite of passage for many teens and the Permit Test @ Home makes the process a bit easier,” she added. “Rather than requiring teens and their parents to come to an MVD office to pick up the manual and then return for the knowledge test, MVD is making everything available digitally.”

Online practice tests have been available at for a number of years, allowing students to familiarize themselves with the questions and become better informed about traffic laws and procedures. The Permit Test @ Home expands that to the actual test by establishing a secure proctoring method in which parents log into AZ MVD Now to establish an account using their driver license or ID card.

The parent or guardian will then register their teen for the Permit Test @ Home and agree to the terms. Teens must be at least 15 years and 6 months old to obtain an instruction permit.  Parents must certify that they will proctor the exam fairly. For teens under the age of 18, the application for an instruction permit or driver license must be signed by a parent or guardian who is responsible for damage caused by negligence or the willful misconduct of the child. 

The Permit Test @ Home requires a $7 application fee, which is the same fee applicable to office visits.

Teens will have three attempts to pass the test within 12 months.

For more information:

The Arizona Ombudsman – Citizens Aide helps you resolve ongoing issues with State Agencies.

Civil Rights

Pursuant to Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) and other nondiscrimination laws and authorities, ADOT does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, age, or disability. Persons that require a reasonable accommodation based on language or disability should contact ADOT’s Civil Rights Office at Requests should be made as early as possible to ensure the State has an opportunity to address the accommodation.

De acuerdo con el Título VI de la Ley de Derechos Civiles de 1964, la Ley de Estadounidenses con Discapacidades (ADA por sus siglas en inglés) y otras normas y leyes antidiscriminatorias, el Departamento de Transporte de Arizona (ADOT) no discrimina por motivos de raza, color, origen nacional, sexo, edad o discapacidad. Las personas que requieran asistencia (dentro de lo razonable) ya sea por el idioma o discapacidad deben ponerse en contacto con la Oficina de Derechos Civiles de ADOT en Las solicitudes deben hacerse lo más antes posible para asegurar que el Estado tenga la oportunidad de hacer los arreglos necesarios.