Scenic Roads

Types of Scenic Roads

In Arizona, "scenic road" is a general term that is often used to identify state-designated and federally designated scenic roads.

The state-designated scenic roads include three types of roadways:

  • Scenic Roads
  • Historic Roads
  • Parkways

The federally designated scenic roads (known as "byways") include two types of roadways:

  • National Scenic Byway
  • All-American Road

There are a total of 26 state-designated scenic roads in Arizona. Of this number, 19 are state-designated scenic roads, three are state-designated historic roads and four are state-designated parkways.

There are a total of five federally designated byways in the state. Three of these byways are National Scenic Byways and two are All-American Roads.

A roadway can share both state scenic and federal byway designations. For example, a state-designated historic road can also be a federally designated All-American Road; a state-designated parkway can also be a federally designated National Scenic Byway. Five of the 26 state-designated scenic roads share federal byway designation.

ADOT administers the state-designated scenic roads program, while the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) administers the byways program. ADOT also assists the FHWA in nominating roadways for federal byway designation.

Civil RightsTitle VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, and the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA)