Frequently Asked Questions
Commercial Driver License
HazMat and Background Checks
No. The three-year testing requirement is a federal regulation for employers transporting hazardous materials to test their drivers every three years.
The Arizona HazMat test is required only when applying for an original CDL, adding the H endorsement to an existing CDL, renewing a CDL or transferring an out-of-state CDL to Arizona while retaining the H endorsement.
The requirement is a result of the U.S. PATRIOT Act (Public Law 107-56, Section 1012), the Safe Explosives Act (Public Law 107-296, Section 1121-1123), ARS § 28-3103(A)(2) and 49 CFR 1572.
Currently, federal regulations require that all new commercial driver license (CDL) applicants or current CDL holders who are requesting an HME successfully complete a Transportation Security Administration (TSA) fingerprint-based BRC prior to issuance of the endorsement.
We will implement the new federal regulations using this phased-in approach:
- Jan. 31, 2005: All new HME applicants will be subject to the BRC requirement.
- May 31, 2005: All CDL renewals and transfers with HMEs will be subject to the BRC requirement.
New HME applications will be processed only at the following MVD CDL offices: Casa Grande, Flagstaff, Goodyear, Holbrook, Kingman, Mesa Southeast, Prescott, Safford, Show Low, Sierra Vista, Tucson CDL and Yuma. For specific locations and hours, see our CDL Office Locations page.
You may begin the BRC process only after MVD has determined that you have fully qualified for the endorsement by successfully completing all required CDL and HME written tests.
Upon successful completion of the written tests, MVD will provide you with a HazMat Background Check Authorization form to present to a TSA authorized fingerprint collection site identified below.
The Transportation Security Administration indicates that the BRC may take from one to eight weeks to complete.
The TSA will notify you of the BRC results by mail whether approved or disapproved for the HME. If approved for the HME, the applicant may return to the MVD CDL office for issuance of the CDL reflecting the HME.
All applicants for a new HME are now subject to the federal BRC requirement, which includes current CDL holders without a valid HME applying to upgrade their CDL by adding the HME.
After completing all required road/skills tests, you may choose to receive a CDL without the HME for use until the TSA approval is received. However, once TSA approval is received, you will need to return to the MVD CDL office and apply for the HazMat-endorsed CDL. Because the endorsement fee was already paid, there will be no additional fee charged when exchanging a CDL issued in the interim, for the CDL reflecting the HME.
Upon successful completion of the BRC, the TSA will only approve issuance of your HME for up to five years. It is the responsibility of the driver to arrange for a new BRC no later than 30 days prior to the expiration of the current TSA approval to avoid cancellation of the CDL.
Current holders of a Class A or B CDL with an HME that do not meet the qualification requirements established by the TSA — but are otherwise qualified to hold a CDL — must visit an MVD office to relinquish the endorsement. There will be a $12 fee for the reissuance of a Class A or B CDL without the HME.
Because current Arizona law requires either a HME or a passenger endorsement on a Class C CDL, only the drivers that currently hold a valid passenger endorsement will qualify for the $12 CDL replacement when relinquishing the HME. All affected holders of a Class C CDL without a valid passenger endorsement must choose one of the following options and all appropriate application and testing fees will apply:
- Apply for a passenger (P) endorsement to keep the Class C CDL.
- Apply for a class A or B CDL upgrade and drop the HME.
- Apply for a noncommercial Class D CDL.
If you receive notification from the TSA indicating that you do not meet the established qualifications for carrying an HME, you must immediately surrender your endorsement to MVD. If otherwise qualified to hold a CDL, you may remove the HME and apply for a duplicate CDL for a $12 fee.
Additional information about the new federal HME application and BRC requirements may be found on the TSA website (search by keyword "hazmat"), or you may call the TSA Contact Center toll-free at 866.289.9673.