Driver Services

Driver License Information


Apply for a Driver LicenseArizona issues an "extended" driver license that does not expire until age 65. However, your photo and vision screening will need to be updated every 12 years. Drivers 60 years old and older will receive a five-year license.

Temporary residents, such as out-of-state students and their spouses, or military personnel and their immediate family members, may apply for a five-year license regardless of age.

Foreign applicants' information will be processed in accordance with Arizona authorized presence requirements.

Safety and Security

Customers will receive their credential in the mail at the address listed on their application. Allow up to 15 days to receive it. Update your address if needed.

A temporary credential with the cardholder's photo will be issued at the office.

If you have outstanding or unresolved actions in any other state, an Arizona license will not be issued. If you provide false information, your Arizona driver license will be canceled.

Before you go ...

Be Prepared and plan ahead. Follow the simple steps to complete your application in advance, and submit it to MVD. This will speed up the process once you’re in the office. Make sure you bring all required identification documents.

More information on the license issuance process

See also: Road Test Information


Civil RightsTitle VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, and the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA)