Phoenix Metro Area Projects

Loop 202 South Mountain Freeway

South Mountain Freeway Portal South Mountain Freeway Background & Overview Public Private Partnership Projects South Mountain Freeway Current Activities
South Mountain Selected Alternatives Map2

The Loop 202 (South Mountain Freeway) will run east and west along Pecos Road, and north between 55th and 63rd avenues, connecting with the Interstate 10 on each end. Preliminary design maps of the South Mountain Freeway can be found below. Please note these designs are dated June 14, 2016 and are subject to change.

  1. I-10 Interchange to 32nd Street
  2. 32nd Street to Desert Foothills Parkway
  3. Desert Foothills Parkway to Chandler Boulevard
  4. Chandler Boulevard to Main Ridge North
  5. Main Ridge North to Elliot Road
  6. Elliot Road to Baseline Road
  7. Southern Avenue to Lower Buckeye Road
  8. Durango Street to I-10
  9. I-10 Interchange improvements – 83rd to 63rd Avenue
  10. I-10 Interchange improvements – 63rd to 43rd Avenue

Traffic interchange locations will be approximately 1‑mile intervals, at major street crossings, listed below.

  • 40th Street
  • 24th Street
  • Desert Foothills Parkway
  • 17th Avenue
  • Estrella Drive
  • Elliot Road
  • Dobbins Road
  • Baseline Road
  • Southern Avenue
  • Broadway Road
  • Lower Buckeye Road
  • Buckeye Road
  • Van Buren Street
Project Timeline
South Mountain Freeway Project Timeline