Disability Symbol (International Symbol of Access)
Many plate types are available with a disability symbol. The disability symbol provides the disabled applicant the privilege of parking in specially marked parking spaces provided for the exclusive use of physically disabled persons. The disabled applicant must be the driver or a passenger in the vehicle when the disability parking space is used.
You must complete a Disability-Hearing Impaired Plate/Placard Application or have one on file. Available to individuals and organizations.
Disability plates may not be issued to trailers.
If the applicant is under the age of 18 and not capable of signing, a legal guardian may sign and indicate relationship to the applicant. If the applicant is over the age of 18 and not capable of signing, a copy of a power of attorney form is required before the application can be accepted.
Plates may only be displayed on a vehicle registered or leased in your name. If leased, but not registered in your name, a document showing you as a lessee is required.
Placards are issued to the applicant and may not be transferred to, or used by, another person. Plates are assigned to a vehicle. You must notify us prior to transfer of the plate to any other vehicle that you own or lease. Only one valid placard is issued per person. The placard may not be duplicated.
Disability plates are valid for as long as the medical certification remains valid.
Permanent disability placards are valid for five years (provided the medical certification remains valid). At the end of the five years, a renewal certification (Placard Renewal/Replacement Request) must be completed and signed in the presence of a notary or MVD agent.
Temporary disability placards are valid for six months (provided the medical certification remains valid). At the end of the six months, if the medical condition continues, a new application/certification is required.
A lost, stolen or mutilated plate or placard may be replaced. A $5.00 fee is charged for replacement plates. There is no fee for replacement placards. You must submit a Placard Renewal/Replacement Request form.
For placard replacements, if the current record cannot be located and the original application is unavailable for verification, a new application will be required. A temporary disability placard will be issued with the same expiration date that appeared on the lost, stolen or mutilated placard. A new temporary placard with a full six-month use period may be issued upon completion of a new application.
Most other states and the provinces of Canada have agreed to honor Arizona disability plates and placards. When traveling by vehicle in other states, provinces or foreign countries, it is a good idea to contact the appropriate motor vehicle authorities.
Use of plates or placards in violation of Arizona law may result in fines and penalties charged to the operator, person in-charge or to the owner of the vehicle, and the plate or placard may be recalled.
The Medical Certification section on the application must be completed by an authorized physician (doctor of medicine, osteopathy, podiatry or chiropractic, licensed to practice medicine in the United States), a registered nurse practitioner or by a hospital administrator. Applicant must have one or more of the following conditions.
Visual impairment in and of itself does not qualify a person for a plate or placard.
- Unable to walk 200 feet without stopping to rest
- Unable to walk without help from another person or a brace, cane, crutch, wheelchair or other prosthetic or assistive device
- Lung disease with forced respiratory, expiratory volume for one second, if measured by spirometry, is less than one liter, or the arterial oxygen tension is less than 60 mm/hg on room air at rest
- Uses portable oxygen
- Cardiac condition with Class 3 or 4 functional limitations as by American Heart Association standards
- Severely limited in ability to walk due to an arthritic, neurological or orthopedic condition