| 1) Where do I find the phone numbers for the installation and cost of an ignition interlock? |
Costs will vary by installer; see Ignition Interlock Manufacturers/Installers for a complete listing, and choose the one that best fits your needs.
| 2) Why do I have to have an interlock installed on my vehicle? |
State law requires installation and maintenance of an interlock when your driving privilege is limited or restricted after being convicted of a certain alcohol and/or drug related violation (see Arizona Revised Statutes 28-1381, 28-1382, 28-1383, 28-1461 and 28-3319). For more information see Driver Improvement.
| 3) I have already reinstated my driving privilege and I have received an order to install an interlock, what happens if I donít get an interlock installed after receiving an order? |
The interlock requirement is effective immediately. Failure to have the device installed and to provide verification to MVD within 30 days, may result in immediate suspension of your Arizona driving privilege and possible extension of the original interlock requirement.
| 4) What will happen if Iím caught driving a different vehicle without the interlock? |
Upon conviction of driving without an interlock device as required by ARS 28-1464 your requirement to maintain an interlock will be extended for one additional year after your original requirement would have ended.
| 5) What do I do if ordered to install an interlock on my vehicle and I donít have a car? |
State law requires that your driving privilege remain suspended or revoked until MVD receives proof of a functioning interlock in each motor vehicle you operate, even though you may not be the registered owner (see ARS 28-1461).
The law requires use of the interlock for at least one year from the date that your driving privilege is reinstated or from the date MVD receives the report of conviction, whichever occurs later.
If you have no vehicle, or do not intend to operate a vehicle, your driving privilege will remain suspended or revoked until you are ready to install an interlock and reinstate your driving privilege.
| 6) Why do I have to get an interlock if my violation was for drugs and not alcohol? |
The interlock is required when an individual is convicted of DUI regardless of substance. ARS 28-1381 states that it is unlawful to drive under the influence of intoxicating liquor, any drug (unless prescribed by a medical practitioner), a vapor releasing substance containing a toxic substance or any combination of liquor, drugs or vapor releasing substances if impaired to the slightest degree.
The ignition interlock requirement may be removed from your record if you were not required by the court to attend alcohol education or treatment. Determination of the ignition interlock requirement will be made by MVD at the time of your revocation investigation.
| 7) Do I need to notify MVD that I had the interlock installed? |
Your installer will electronically notify us within 24 hours of the installation. You must reinstate your driving privilege, you may show us your copy of the installation verification form provided to you by your installer at the time of installation.
| 8) I had an interlock installed, but I received a notice stating that I had not yet installed the device. What do I do? |
Contact your interlock installer, or show us your copy of the installation verification form provided to you by your installer.
| 9) Do you monitor the interlock? |
Yes. The interlock installer is required to electronically send periodic reports of your interlock usage to MVD. If those reports indicate a failure to comply with interlock requirements, tampering, circumvention, or certain other violations, you will receive notification from MVD extending your original interlock requirement for an additional 6 to 12 months.
| 10) Am I eligible for a special restricted driver license? |
We will send a notice of eligibility to those qualified for the special restricted driver license. Contact Us to verify whether or not you are eligible for the special restricted driver license. If you are eligible, we will tell you how to apply.
| 11) I have a special restricted driver license, if I decide to quit driving before the restricted license time is over, what do I need to do? |
Over 21 Ė A person, except an underage licensee restricted by ARS 28-3320 or ARS 28-3322, may voluntarily cancel and surrender the special restricted driver license to MVD at any time during the restricted period. The person must provide us with a completed Driver License/ID Cancellation Request, form # 96-0384.
Under 21 Ė A restricted underage licensee who has obtained a special restricted driver license and wishes to cancel must petition the court for permission to cancel the restricted license. If approved by the court, you may surrender your special restricted driver license to MVD. You will not be eligible to apply for a new license until your suspension or revocation period is over, even if the special restricted driver license is surrendered. If court approved, provide the court abstract along with your restricted license.
| 12) I have a commercial driver license. Am I eligible to obtain a special restricted driver license? |
Only drivers with a Class D or Class G driver license may be eligible for a special restricted driver license under Arizona law. If you currently hold a Commercial Driver License you must apply in person at any MVD office for a class D special restricted driver license.
| 13) What if Iím required to drive my employerís company vehicle that has no interlock? |
You may have your employer complete the Ignition Interlock Employer Notification, form # 96-0242, and always carry the original form (not a copy) with you when driving a company vehicle.
| 14) What if I own the company and drive the company truck, can I complete the Ignition Interlock Employer Notification form? |
No, if you are the owner and drive the vehicle, you must install the interlock and follow all requirements.
| 15) How will I fulfill my interlock requirement if I move out of state? |
Arizona requirements still need to be maintained. Contact your interlock manufacturer to locate an authorized interlock installer in your new state that will continue to provide all interlock services required by the State of Arizona. It is your responsibility to work with your interlock manufacturer and authorized installer to ensure AZ MVD receives all required electronic reporting until you have completed the interlock requirement.
| 16) Iím required to have an interlock installed because of a violation in Arizona, but I live in another state. Do I have to go to Arizona to have an interlock installed? |
No, contact an interlock manufacturer to locate an authorized interlock installer in your state that will provide all interlock services required by the State of Arizona.
It is your responsibility to work with your interlock manufacturer and authorized installer to ensure AZ MVD receives all required electronic reporting until you have completed the interlock requirement.
| 17) My out-of-state interlock installer refuses to provide you with appropriate reports of my accuracy and compliance checks, how can I ensure that Arizona knows Iím complying? |
Contact your interlock manufacturer. Arizona Administrative Code R17-5-610 requires interlock manufacturers to electronically transmit accuracy and compliance check information to us, or ensure that their authorized installers electronically transmit the information to us.
| 18) What happens if I fail the breath test? |
The interlock will enter a lockout period for failed breath alcohol tests. Contact your installer with any questions regarding lockout.
| 19) What kind of violations will cause you to extend my interlock requirement? |
You should contact your interlock manufacturer or authorized installer for questions or concerns regarding violations. However, you may also refer to any training material or brochures provided to you by your interlock provider/installer, at the time of installation.
| 20) I received notice that additional time will be added to my interlock requirement for tampering, circumvention or refusing a rolling retest. Who do I contact to dispute this action? |
We take action based on information provided by your installer after your last compliance check. Contact your installer to verify the accuracy of the information provided. If your installer is unable to resolve the issue, request a hearing from the Executive Hearing Office.
| 21) How do I request an administrative hearing? |
Please see the Executive Hearing Office page.
| 22) I received an interlock extension order and have requested a hearing. Do I need to keep the interlock on my car while waiting for the hearing for the extension order? |
There is no simple answer to this question. Of course, you must keep the interlock installed until the end of the original requirement period. If you are still waiting for your hearing when the original period expires and you keep the device installed, you will be responsible for the additional maintenance expenses. If you remove the interlock and the decision of the Hearing Office is not in your favor, you must have the interlock re-installed (at your own expense) to begin the extension requirement.
| 23) Who may I contact for any hearing related questions? |
Contact the Executive Hearing Office.
| 24) If my vehicle has been sold, wrecked, stolen or needs repairs, what steps should be taken? |
You should always contact your interlock manufacturer or authorized installer for questions, concerns or clarification regarding removal of the device.
| 25) I have kept my interlock for the time designated, what steps should I take before having the device removed? |
Contact Us to verify that you are eligible to have the interlock removed.
| 26) Why canít I remove the interlock one year from when I had it installed? |
State law requires the interlock remain installed for at least one year beginning on the date of reinstatement of your driving privilege or on the date we receive notice of your conviction, whichever occurs later (see ARS 28-3319). You may also contact us to determine the date you qualify to have the device removed.
| 27) My removal date for the interlock is next week and my installer said I had a refusal or violation. Can I remove the interlock now? |
Contact Us to verify if your interlock requirement has been extended and/or to determine the date you will qualify to have the device removed.
| 28) How do I file a complaint against the interlock installer? |
Mail a written complaint describing your issues and include your full name, date of birth, and Arizona driver license number, as well as the name and location of the interlock installer to:IGNITION INTERLOCK UNIT, MAIL DROP 530M
MOTOR VEHICLE DIVISION
PO BOX 2100
PHOENIX AZ 85001-2100
or Contact Us
| 29) Will the interlock lose all memory if the battery is disconnected? |
No. The device has a battery back up to protect the data logís memory.
| 30) What if I am taking medicine with an alcohol base or recently used mouthwash? |
During a training session provided by the installers, drivers are cautioned about common substances that contain alcohol, including mouthwashes and medications. If the blood alcohol concentration of the driver, as measured in the breath, is over the preset limit, the driver will not be allowed to start the vehicle.
| 31) Can I have an interlock installed on a motorcycle? |
There are currently no companies in Arizona that will install an interlock device on a motorcycle. Contact an interlock installer for more information.