Driver License Information
See instead Commercial Driver License Information for CDL info.
Arizona issues an "extended" driver license that does not expire until age 65. However, your photo and vision screening will need to be updated every 12 years. Drivers age 60 and over will receive a 5-year license.
Temporary residents such as out-of-state students and their spouses, or military personnel and their immediate family members may apply for a 5-year license regardless of age.
The information of foreign applicants will be processed in accordance with Arizona authorized presence requirements.
For more information, also see our Driver License FAQs.
Tips for Faster Service
- Begin your application online
- Best days to visit are usually Wednesday and Thursday.
- Avoid the first and last two days of the month, and the day after a holiday or other office closure.
- Bring acceptable proof of identification, age and authorized presence
- Bring your out-of-state driver license.
- Vehicles new to Arizona may require an inspection.
- Bring your out-of-state title, registration and plates.
- Have your vehicle identification number (VIN) handy.
Operator or Motorcycle License:
Ages 16-39 – $25.00
Ages 40-44 – $20.00
45-49 – $15.00
50 & over and 5-year – $10.00
Limited License – $10.00
Identification Card (ID):
Ages 0-64 – $12.00
65 & over – No fee
Instruction Permit – $7.00
Motorcycle Endorsement – $7.00
Restricted Instruction Permit – $3.00
Duplicate License or ID Card – $12.00
Duplicate Instruction Permit – $2.00
Out-of-State Driver License Skill Test – $15.00
Out-of-State Vision Screening – $5.00
Motor Vehicle Record: Uncertified 39-month – $3.00
Motor Vehicle Record: Certified 5-year – $5.00
Abandoned Vehicle Fee – $500.00
Abandoned Vehicle Fee (on federal land) – $600.00
Returned Check Fee – $25.00
If your license is revoked, suspended or canceled, you may be required to pay another application fee, in addition to a reinstatement fee.
Payment may be made by cash, check, traveler’s check or money order (payable to Motor Vehicle Division) for most fees; credit cards may be used at some offices. Returned check and reinstatement fees may not be paid by check.
Begin your application online. If you need to print one, see Driver License/Identification Card Application.
Proof of Identification, Age and Authorized Presence
Arizona law requires that you submit proof that your presence in the United States is authorized under federal law. See Identification Requirements for a listing of acceptable proof.
You need at least two documents listed – one must have a clear photo of you
Or three documents listed with no photo
One must be listed under the Primary
All must be originals or copies, in English, certified by the issuing agency
Additional documents needed for a name change (e.g., marriage certificate, divorce decree). You must first change your name with the Social Security Administration.
Requirements may change without notice.
Social Security Number
You are required by ARS 28-3158(D)(5) and 42 USC 405(c)(2)(C) to provide your Social Security Number. It will be used to verify your identity and to comply with federal and state child support enforcement laws. It will not be used as your driver license number.
State law requires that you obtain an Arizona driver license and registration immediately if any one of the following applies. If you:
- Work in Arizona (other than for seasonal agricultural work)
- Are registered to vote in this state
- Place children in school without paying the tuition rate of a nonresident
- Have a business with an office in Arizona, that bases and operates vehicles in this state
- Obtain a state license or pay school tuition fees at the same rate as an Arizona resident
- Have a business that operates vehicles to transport goods or passengers within Arizona
- Remain in Arizona for a total of seven months or more during any calendar year, regardless of your permanent residence
Out-of-state students enrolled with seven or more semester hours, are not considered Arizona residents, regardless of employment.
Active duty military personnel based in Arizona who qualify for exemption under the Service Members Civil Relief Act of 2003 are not considered Arizona residents.
If you are currently licensed in another state, a written test will normally not be required. However, in some cases it may be required.
Upon payment of all applicable fees, you have three attempts to pass the written test, within 12 months from the date of the application. After three failed attempts to pass, you must pay for a new application. If you also applied for endorsements, you have three attempts to pass each endorsement test. If you fail a test, you may take it again the next day.
The written test for a regular driver license consists of 30 multiple-choice questions. You take the test at a computer work station using a touch screen (audio assist is available). Questions are taken from the Arizona Driver License Manual. Please thoroughly study the Manual before taking the test.
To take a sample test, see Driver License Practice Tests.
For information on CDL testing, see Commercial Driver License Information.
Verbal Knowledge Testing
A verbal knowledge test may be considered in lieu of the written test in the following situations:
- A customer declares that they cannot read or their reading competency is low.
- A customer has incorrectly answered a large number of questions on a previous test or has failed a second or third attempt.
- A customer reads in a foreign language and a written test in the foreign language is not available.
Offices conduct verbal tests by appointment, according to the following schedule:
- Visit offices to make an appointment
- Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday:
8:30 A.M. -- 10:30 A.M. and 2:00 P.M. -- 2:30 P.M.
A computerized audio version of the written knowledge test is available in offices without an appointment.
If a road test is required, you may drive a test route that has a variety of traffic situations. An examiner will ride with you in your vehicle and give you directions to follow. You will be observed and graded on specific actions and on your general ability to safely operate the vehicle.
Road tests may be suspended due to extreme weather or safety conditions.
Paying one application fee allows you three attempts to pass the test in a 12-month period. You may retest as soon as the next business day.
You must provide the vehicle used for the test. The vehicle must be in good operating condition, and must have current registration, plate and tab. If your vehicle is a 1972 model or newer, it must be equipped with seat belts, and these belts must be properly fastened and adjusted. You must have current automobile liability insurance.
Before you can take the road test, you will have to show that you understand the meaning of Arizona traffic signs. You will also have to demonstrate that you can understand English-language instructions such as:
- Slow down
- Left and right lane change
- Drive straight ahead
- Turn (left/right) at next street, corner, stop sign, or traffic light
- Seat Belt
- Turn Signal
Features of the License
- Digital photo technology provides for instant retrieval
- Security features designed to reduce fraud
- Credential type, e.g., Commercial Driver License, Instruction Permit, is printed directly underneath the "Arizona" logo
- "Under 21" Driver License:
- Vertical format
- Licensee "Under 21" indicated next to photo
- Credential displays date when licensee reaches age 21
Classes of Licenses
Licenses are issued by "class": Class G (graduated), Class D (operator), Class M (motorcycle) and Class A, B, C (commercial). If the class M license is combined with any other class of license, it will be added as an “endorsement“ on the back of the current license
If you are at least 15 years and six months of age, you may be issued a graduated and/or a motorcycle instruction permit. You must be at least 18 for an operator permit.
With a graduated or operator permit, you must be accompanied by a class A, B, C or D licensed driver at least 21 years of age, who occupies the seat beside you. These permits are valid for 12 months.
With a motorcycle permit you are prohibited from operating a motorcycle on freeways or interstate highways between sunset and sunrise, at any time when there is not enough light to clearly see persons or vehicles at a distance of 500 feet. The motorcycle instruction permit is valid for seven months and can be renewed one time within a 24-month period. To renew an expired permit, you will be required to retake the written test.
A commercial instruction permit is valid for six months. You must be at least 18 to apply. For additional information, see the Commercial Driver License Information page.
Graduated License (Class G)
If you are at least 16, but less than 18, years of age you will be issued a graduated driver license that is valid to operate any vehicle that does not require a motorcycle or commercial driver license.
To apply for a graduated license you must have held an Arizona instruction permit for at least six months. The permit must be valid at the time of application. You must also have satisfactorily completed an Arizona driver education program approved by MVD, or your parent or guardian must certify in writing that you have completed at least 30 hours of supervised driving practice, including at least 10 hours at night.
If you hold a current and valid out-of-state driver license is exempt from the driver education/driving practice and instruction permit requirements.
For the first six months with a graduated driver license, you must not drive a motor vehicle between the hours of midnight and 5:00 am unless:
- A parent or legal guardian with a valid Class A, B, C or D license occupies the front passenger seat or
- You are driving directly to or from a sanctioned school-sponsored activity, place of employment, a sanctioned religious activity or a family emergency
For the first six months with a graduated driver license, you must not drive a motor vehicle containing more than one passenger under the age of 18, unless:
- The passengers are your siblings or
- You are accompanied by a parent or legal guardian with a valid Class A, B, C or D driver license who occupies the front passenger seat.
The following are the penalties if who are under age 18, have a graduated driver license and are convicted of a traffic violation:
|1st Conviction:||Must attend Traffic Survival School; Violation goes on driving record
|2nd Conviction:||3-month suspension of driving privilege; violation goes on your driving record
|3rd conviction:||6-month suspension; violation goes on your driving record
There are additional penalties for violation of curfew and passenger restrictions, including fines and mandatory extension of the 6-month restricted driving period.
Suspension of driving privilege results for a third conviction of curfew and/or passenger violations, convictions of other violations including alcohol-related convictions.
Parent/Guardian Approval for Applicants Under 18
If you are under 18, your application for an instruction permit or driver license must be signed by at least one adult. The adult will be responsible for any negligence or willful misconduct when you are driving.
The application must be signed by:
- One natural parent, if married to the other natural parent, or
- Both natural parents, if not married to each other, but share joint custody, or
- One natural parent with sole custody
or, if neither parent is living:
- Legal guardian (proof required), or
- Foster parent living with the minor (proof required), or
- Employer of the minor (death certificates must be shown)
The signatures must be witnessed by an MVD agent or by a notary public. Signatures obtained for an instruction permit will be required again for a driver license.
The person who signed the application for the minor, as well as the person with responsibility for the minor, may cancel the minor’s license. The license may be canceled by submitting a Driver License/ID Cancellation Request.
Operator License (Class D)
An operator license allows you to drive any vehicle that does not require a motorcycle or commercial driver license. You must be at least 18 years of age to apply for an operator license.
Motorcycle License (Class M)
A motorcycle license or endorsement is required to drive a motorcycle or motor-driven cycle. You must be at least 16 to apply for a motorcycle license.
If you apply for a motorcycle license or endorsement when under 18, you must have held an Arizona instruction permit for at least six months. The permit must be valid at the time of application.
You must also have satisfactorily completed a motorcycle driver education program that is approved by MVD or the parent or guardian must certify in writing that the applicant has completed at least 30 hours of supervised motorcycle driving practice.
If you have an out-of-state motorcycle license or endorsement, you are exempt from the driver education/driving practice and instruction permit requirements.
For additional information, see the Motorcycle License Information.
Commercial Driver License (Class A, B or C)
A commercial driver license (CDL) is required for drivers of heavyweight vehicles, 26,001 lbs. or more gross vehicle weight (GVW), vehicles hauling a trailer that is 10,001 lbs. (GVWR)or more where the combined weight is 26,001 lbs or more, vehicles capable of carrying 16 or more passengers (including the driver), or vehicles required to be placarded for hazardous material.
The minimum age for a CDL is 21. If you are at least 18, you may apply for an intrastate commercial driver license that is valid only in Arizona.
You are required to submit a copy of your Medical Examiner Certificate (form #40-1504A available online, or a DOT Card) when you apply for a CDL or renew an existing license. Incomplete or inaccurate information on the examination certificate may result in suspension or denial of the license.
You must maintain your medical qualification with MVD and must submit a copy of your examination certificate every 24 months (or sooner depending on the expiration date on the certificate) to the MVD Medical Review Program or a CDL Office. Failure to do so may result in suspension of your commercial driving privilege.
For additional information, see the Commercial Driver License Information page.
Identification (ID) Card
The identification card is available to all ages (including infants) for $12. Persons over the age of 65 or anyone receiving Federal Supplemental Security Income disability checks receive the card free of charge.
An Arizona ID Card with a photo allows law enforcement agencies to rapidly distribute your child’s information and photograph in the event of an AMBER Alert (child abduction alert bulletin). A new photo will be needed as your child grows and changes.
You may not possess an identification card and a driver license at the same time.
You may obtain a replacement (duplicate) license for $12.00 if:
Your Arizona driver license or identification card is lost, stolen, destroyed or becomes unreadable. (If your license has been lost or stolen and you have reason to believe someone else is using it, you should report it to your local police as an identity theft.)
- Your address or name changes
- You wish to update your photo
- You wish to remove your Social Security number from your license
- You wish to convert a graduated license to an "Under 21" driver license (anytime on or after your birthday)
- You wish to convert an Under 21 license to a regular driver license (anytime on or after your birthday)
You must provide two acceptable items of identification. If your name has changed, you will need to follow the procedures in the Name Change section below.
If your license was issued prior to July 1995, you must visit an MVD office to obtain the duplicate, so that your photo may be updated.
To obtain a replacement (duplicate) license, you have three options:
- Online – $12.00, MC\Visa\AmEx\Discover credit cards only
- Phone – $12.00, MC\Visa credit cards only
- Mail – Check for $12.00, payable to Motor Vehicle Division. Mail to the address below. Please allow four weeks for delivery.
MAIL DROP 510
MOTOR VEHICLE DIVISION
PO BOX 2100
PHOENIX AZ 85001-2100
Conversion of Graduated or Under 21 License
When you turn 18, you may continue to use your Class G, Graduated driver license. However, you will be eligible to obtain a replacement (duplicate) license reflecting a Class D, Operator status that still retains the special vertical orientation which indicates that you are UNDER 21.
When you turn 21 you may continue to use your driver license or identification card with the special vertical orientation. However, you are eligible to obtain a replacement (duplicate) license with the regular horizontal orientation, without the UNDER 21 designation.
To obtain a replacement (duplicate) license, see Duplicate License section above.
Medical Condition Alert
Space is provided on your license to indicate medical conditions that may require immediate attention. You must present a statement about the medical condition, signed by a licensed physician or registered nurse.
You may renew your driver license anytime before the expiration date of your current license. You must visit an MVD office to complete an application, have a new photo taken and pass a vision screening. Begin your application online. If you need to print one, see Driver License/Identification Card Application.
You will submit your current driver license as your primary identification document. If we cannot retrieve your photo, you will be asked for a secondary form of identification. See Identification Requirements for a list of acceptable proof of identification.
You are required by law to notify us of a name or address change within 10 days.
We are required to verify your Social Security Number before your record can be updated. Therefore, you must first contact the Social Security Administration online or at 800-772-1213 for information on how to change your name on their records.
After you have changed your name with SSA, wait two days for their computer system to be updated. You should then visit any MVD or authorized Third Party office to present identification in both your new and previous names. This must be an original or certified copy (must be certified by the issuing agency) of one of the following: Marriage Certificate/License, Divorce Decree, Certificate of Citizenship/Naturalization or a court order.
You are required by law to notify us within 10 days of any change to your address.
If your current address is not on file, you may not receive renewal notices or other correspondence concerning your driver license or vehicle records. You may be cited by law enforcement if you do not change your address within the 10 days.
You can change your address online. You will be asked to provide your name, date of birth, and driver license or identification card number. Address changes are free. There is a $12.00 charge if you request a replacement driver license or ID card.
When you change your address on our records, it will automatically change the address on your driver license record and on each vehicle record where you are designated to receive the registration.
Military Personnel Information
See our Military Personnel Information page for special driver license and vehicle services available to military personnel.
Motor Vehicle Records
A Motor Vehicle Record (MVR) is the computer printout of a driving or vehicle record. The manner in which driver license or motor vehicle record information may be released is regulated by the Federal Driver’s Privacy Protection Act (or DPPA), 18 USC 2721-2725 as adopted in Arizona law, Title 28, Chapter 2, Article 5.
The DPPA requires you to have a "permissible use" for requesting and receiving an MVD record that contains personal identifying information (e.g., a person’s driver license photograph/image, social security number, driver license number, name, address and medical/disability information). The Motor Vehicle Record Request form lists those permissible uses.
If eligible, you can obtain and print a copy of a record online. You may also obtain a copy by completing a Motor Vehicle Record Request form # 46-4416 and submitting $3.00 for an uncertified record (3-year for driving record) or $5.00 for a certified record (5-year for driving record) by mail or at any MVD or authorized Third Party office. Your signature on the form must be notarized, or witnessed by an MVD agent.
National Driver Register
Arizona is a member of the National Driver Register, a nationwide computer system providing information about problem drivers. When you apply for an Arizona driver license, the information from your application is checked against this system.
If you have outstanding or unresolved actions in any other state, an Arizona license will not be issued. If you provide false information, your Arizona driver license will be canceled.
You may submit a voter registration at the same time you apply for a driver license by completing the voter registration area on the application. You may also register to vote online. Your voter registration must be received by the county recorder at least 29 days before the election, for you to be eligible to vote.
There is no fee to register to vote. You are not required to register to vote in order to obtain a license. To register you must be all of the following:
- 18 years of age on or before the next General Election
- U.S. citizen
- Arizona resident
- Additionally, If you have been convicted of a felony, your civil rights must have been restored.
Selective Service Registration
Federal law requires that every male United States citizen and male alien residing in the United States or its territories must register with the U.S. Selective Service System within 30 days of his 18th birthday.
Arizona law requires that by submitting an application for an original, renewal or reinstatement driver license or identification card, if you are a male applicant under 26 years of age, you consent to registration with the Selective Service as part of the application process.
Registering with Selective Service does not mean that you are joining the military. Registration provides the federal government with an accurate list of males who might be called to military service if a return to the draft is authorized by Congress and the President.
If you are 18 to 25 years of age, registration information will immediately be sent to Selective Service. If you are under 18, information will be stored and automatically sent to the Selective Service when you reach age 18. Selective Service will send you a Registration Acknowledgment Card when your registration is complete.
For more information, call Selective Service toll-free 888-655-1825 or www.sss.gov.
Organ Donor Program – Offers Life to Thousands
Many Arizonans will never know the people who gave them a new chance at life, but those people said "yes" to becoming organ and tissue donors when they received a driver license.
For many years, there was no central registry to check a person’s wish to donate vital organs. The Arizona Donor Registry now provides a centralized place to document all Arizonans who are committed to saving and improving lives through donation.
The driver license application includes a box to check if you would like to be added to the registry.
If you have questions or would like to register now, visit www.azdonorregistry.org or call 800-94 DONOR.