Business Engagement and Compliance

DBE Disparity Study

Internal Study Steering Committee

An Internal Study Steering Committee has been identified to represent internal ADOT departments that utilize federal funds and/or procure, manage and maintain/track data for contracts and grants. Committee members also include local government and subrecipient representatives.

Scope of the Committee

The Disparity Study Steering Committee is responsible for these tasks:

  • Disseminating information about the study process and its impacts to staff, management and customers during the course of the study
  • Providing data requested by the study consultant and the Business Engagement and Compliance Office (BECO) within the requested time frame
  • Providing input about the overall direction of the study
  • Suggesting other staff that might contribute to the study
  • Reviewing and providing input on data and analyses pertaining to his or her department or area of responsibility
  • Disseminating information about study findings to his or her staff, department or area of responsibility, management, and customers
  • Providing recommendations on how to implement solutions to issues identified in the study

Staff from the following ADOT departments, subrecipient representatives and other organizations have been identified to serve on the Internal Study Steering Committee: 

  • Human Resources Office: Kerry Sikes, Chief Human Resources Officer
  • Civil Rights Office: Eddie Edison, Civil Rights Consultant
  • State Engineer's Office: Barry Crockett, Deputy State Engineer for Contracts
  • Engineering Consultants Section: Mike DenBleyker, Acting Manager
  • Contracts and Specification: Steve Beasley, Manager
  • Local Government Agency Section: Bahram Dariush, Manager
  • Field Reports: Lenyne Hickson, Field Reports Manager
  • Construction Contract Administration: Angie Andreason, Consultant Contract Administrator
  • Procurement: Bertha Whitby, Chief Procurement Officer
  • Multimodal Planning Division (Transit): Mary Ann Roder, Finance Administrator
  • Multimodal Panning Division: Sally Palmer, Management Analyst
  • Multimodal Planning Division (Aviation): Michael Klein, Aeronautics Group Manager
  • Information Technology Group: Stanley Soesilo, Information Technology Specialist
  • Contracts Payable: Thomas Kaye, Accounts Payable Manager
  • Transit Subrecipient Agency Representative: Yolanda Velasquez, City of Sierra Vista
  • BECO: Vivien Lattibeaudiere, Manager
  • BECO: Tina Samartinean, Contract Compliance and Training Officer
  • BECO Consultant: Patti Tellez, BECO Project Manager
  • Study Consultant / Keen Independent Research: Dave Keen, Project Manager
  • FHWA: Lisa Neie, Civil Rights Specialist
  • FHWA: Jennifer Brown, Team Leader for System Performance

Civil RightsTitle VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, and the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA)