Licenses are issued by “class”: G for graduated, D for operator, M for motorcycle, and A, B, C for commercial. If the Class M license is combined with any other class of license, it will be added as an endorsement on the back of the current license.
Operator License (Class D)
An operator license allows you to drive any vehicle that does not require a motorcycle or commercial license. You must be at least 18 years old to apply for an operator license.
The Arizona Voluntary Travel ID is the credential that complies with the federal REAL ID Act of 2005. The Voluntary Travel ID will be available as both a driver license and identification card. As its name suggests, Arizona residents will have the option to obtain a Voluntary Travel ID.
A motorcycle license or endorsement is required to drive a motorcycle or motor-driven cycle. You must be at least 16 to apply for a motorcycle license.
If you apply for a motorcycle license or endorsement when under 18, you must have held an Arizona instruction permit for at least six months. The permit must be valid at the time of application.
You must also have satisfactorily completed a motorcycle-driver education program that is approved by MVD or the parent or guardian must certify in writing that the applicant has completed at least 30 hours of supervised motorcycle driving practice.
If you have an out-of-state motorcycle license or endorsement, you are exempt from the driver education/driving practice and instruction permit requirements.
For additional information, see the Motorcycle License Information.
A commercial driver license (CDL) is required for drivers of heavyweight vehicles, 26,001 lbs. or more gross vehicle weight (GVW), vehicles hauling a trailer that is 10,001 lbs. (GVWR)or more where the combined weight is 26,001 lbs or more, vehicles capable of carrying 16 or more passengers (including the driver), or vehicles required to be placarded for hazardous material.
The minimum age for a CDL is 21. If you are at least 18, you may apply for an intrastate commercial driver license that is valid only in Arizona.
You are required to submit a copy of your Medical Examiner Certificate or a DOT card when you apply for a CDL or renew an existing license. Incomplete or inaccurate information on the examination certificate may result in suspension or denial of the license.
You must maintain your medical qualification with MVD and must submit a copy of your examination certificate every 24 months (or sooner depending on the expiration date on the certificate) to the MVD Medical Review Program or a CDL Office. Failure to do so may result in suspension of your commercial driving privilege.
For additional information, see the Commercial Driver License Information page.
If you are at least 16, but less than 18, years of age you will be issued a graduated driver license that is valid to operate any vehicle that does not require a motorcycle or commercial driver license.
To apply for a graduated license you must have held an Arizona instruction permit for at least six months. The permit must be valid at the time of application. You must also have satisfactorily completed an Arizona driver education program approved by MVD, or your parent or guardian must certify in writing that you have completed at least 30 hours of supervised driving practice, including at least 10 hours at night.
If you hold a current and valid out-of-state driver license, you are exempt from the driver education/driving practice and instruction permit requirements.
For more information on the Graduated Driver License, please see the Teen Driving pages.